30th Anniversary Awards

2015 Spirit Awards

These nominated awards recognize a group and individual who have continuously demonstrated passion for the field of cancer immunotherapy, as well as for SITC. Recipients of this award stand out as both team-players for the cause and culture creators for the Society


The CheckPoints
SITC'S House Band

James P. Allison, PhD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Keith Bahjat, PhD
Bristol Myers Squibb

Thomas F. Gajewski, MD, PhD
University of Chicago

Rachel Humphrey, MD
CytomX Therapeutics

Patrick Hwu, MD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dirk Spitzer, PhD
Washington University

John Timmerman, MD
University of California Los Angeles



Michael B. Atkins, MD
Georgetown-Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center

2015 Collaborator Awards

These nominated awards recognize partners from government, industry, and organizations who have made great strides in cancer immunotherapy and have forged meaningful relationships with SITC in a joint effort to propel the field forward.


U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Accepted on Behalf of the U.S. FDA:
Raj Puri, MD, PhD; Director of the Division of Cell and Gene Therapy

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Accepted on Behalf of the NCI:
William D. Merritt, PhD; Program Director


Accepted on Behalf of Merck:
Roger D. Dansey, MD; Senior Vice President, Clinical Research Oncology, Merck Research Laboratories

Bristol-Myers Squibb
Accepted on Behalf of Bristol-Myers Squibb:
Nils Lonberg, PhD; Sr. Vice President, Biologics Discovery
, Bristol-Myers Squibb


Chinise Society for Clinical Oncology (CSCO)
Accepted on Behalf of CSCO:
Yi-Long Wu, MD; President

Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network (CITN)
Accepted on Behalf of the CITN:
Martin "Mac" Cheever, MD; Principal Investigator of the CITN

2015 Outstanding Member/Volunteer Awards

This nominated award recognizes Society members who have advanced the mission of SITC through volunteer outreach activities and committee appointments. The following recipients have tirelessly volunteered their time to serve on one or more SITC committees consistently over the past five years.

Rachel Humphrey, MD

CytomX Therapeutics

Thomas F. Gajewski, MD, PhD

University of Chicago

2015 Visionary/Legacy Awards

This nominated award honors SITC members who are visionaries in the field and continue to show extraordinary ingenuity with continuous contributions in support of advancing the mission of the Society. Recipients of this award have helped strengthen SITC's role in advancing the science and application of cancer immunotherapy, and have demonstrated their dedication to the Society and to the field with a distinguished record of service in leadership and/or committee roles. They are leaders whose counsel others seek and who selflessly give their time and talent. They have been forward thinking during course-changing events, and their engagement has reflected a pivotal influence on the direction of the Society.

Robert H. Wiltrout, PhD

Naitonal Cancer Insitute

Bernard A. Fox, PhD

Earle A. Chiles Research Institute, Providence Cancer Center